Officers, Session, Diaconate

Moderator of Session/Council:

"The pastor of a congregation shall be the moderator of the session of that congregation ... The moderator possesses the authority necessary for preserving order and for conducting efficiently the business of the body.  he shall convene and adjourn the body in accordance with its own action..." (Book of Order, G-3.0104) 

Jim Burton Rev. Nick Cheek, Pastor, Moderator of Session/Council

Clerk of Session:

"Each council shall elect a clerk who shall record the transactions of the council, keep its rolls of membership and attendance, maintain any required registers, preserve its records, and furnish extracts from them when required by another council of the church.  Such extracts, verified by the clerk, shall be evidence in any council of the term as it may determine." (Book of Order, G-3.0104)

Chuck Fienning  Chuck Fienning, Clerk 2015-2017


"The session shall elect a treasurer for such term as the session shall decide and shall supervise his or her work or delegate that supervision to a board of deacons or trustees..." (Book of Order, G-3.0205)

 HenryMcFaddin Henry McFaddin, Treasurer 2015-2016


"The session is the council for the congregation.  It shall be composed of those persons elected by the congregation to active service as ruling elders, together with all installed pastors and associate pastors ... The session shall have responsibility for governing the congregation and guiding its witness to the sovereign activity of God in the world, so that the congregation is and becomes a community of faith, hope, love, and witness ... Ruling elders are so named not because they "lord it over" the congregation (Matt.20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life." (Book of Order, G-3.0201, G-2.03)

Class of 2016
 JD Dunn   John (J.D.) Dunn                                Will Holmes  Will Holmes

 Chuck Fienning   Chuck Fienning                                     John Moorman  John Moorman

 David Holler   David Holler


Class of 2017
Margy Carpenter    Margy Carpenter                                  John James John James

Peggy Curlovic    Peggy Curlovic                                     Bob Smith Bob Smith

John Jackson    John Jackson

Class of 2018

Anne Abbott     Anne Abbott                                         Scott Williams    Scott Williams

Brian Frerichs     Brian Frerichs                                    Debby Williams Debby Williams

Dan Spencer     Dan Spencer


The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress ... Deacons may be ... organized as a board of deacons ... their ministry is under the supervision and authority of the session. (Book of Order, G-2.0201, G-2.0202)

 Kay Smith  Kay Smith, Moderator 2016

Class of 2016
Nell "Dee" Dailey   Nell (Dee) Dailey                              Kyle Osteen Kyle Osteen

Vickie Goodwin    Vicki Goodwin                                 Kay Smith Kay Smith

John Leasure     John Leasure                                 Robin Thames Robin Thames

Class of 2017
Robbie Branham    Robbie Branham                             Bronwyn McElveen Bronwyn McElveen

Gloria Cokier    Gloria Coker                                  Susan D Osteen Susan D. Osteen

Jimmy Ezell    Jimmy Ezell                                   Becky Owens Becky Owens

 Beth Jackson   Beth Jackson

Class of 2018

Ben Abbott     Ben Abbott                                      Denise Dunn    Ollie James

Matt Blankenship     Matt Blankenship                              Ike Jenkins   Ike Jenkins

Lauren Decker     Lauren Decker                                  Kimberly White   Kimberly White

Denise Dunn     Denise Dunn 

Back to Top